Inclusive Economies Workshop: South Africa — Applying the Rockefeller Inclusive Economies Framework
August 25, 2017

Meeting Purpose and Goals

The South African government inherited various dysfunctional systems and structures from the past which have proved difficult to shift, including a concentrated, capital-intensive economy, a divided educational and training system, and entrenched spatial and social divisions. The Constitution guarantees a range of compelling socio-economic rights and freedoms, yet a large section of the population remains impoverished and race remains a key dimension of inequality. The imperative for inclusion is widely accepted at national, provincial and local levels, but a practical way forward remains elusive. In particular, what can be done at the local level, within city-regions, to improve living standards, general well-being and social mobility. In partnership with the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC), we analyzed patterns of inclusivity in the eight largest metropolitan regions in South Africa. The workshop in South Africa explored inclusion within and across these metros, and asked how does the Inclusive Economy framework provide a helpful provocation and entry point into the inclusive growth debate in South Africa.


August 25, 2017

9:00 am Welcome and Introductions

9:15 – 10:30 am Introducing the Rockefeller Inclusive Economies framework and its application by Prof. Chris Benner, Everett Program Chair, University of Santa Cruz, Gabriela Giusta, Everett Program, University of Santa Cruz, and Prof. Gordon McGranahan: Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex

10:30 – 11:30 am Q&A

11:00 am Break

11:30 – 12:30 pm Inclusive Growth in South Africa: In search of ‘Real Economic Transformation’ by Prof. Ivan Turok, Director Economic Performance and Development (EPD), HSRC and Dr. Justin Visagie, EPD, HSRC

12:30 – 1:00 pm Q&A

1:00 pm Lunch

2:00 – 3:00 pm Presentation by respondents by Roland Hunter, Cities Support Programme, National Treasury, Puvendra Akkiah, Spatial Development and Land Use Manager, eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality and Kirsten Pearson, Economies of Regions Learning Network

3:00 – 4:00 pm Collective Discussion

4:15 – 4:30 pm Concluding Remarks


Chris Benner • Bio

Executive Director
The Everett Program

Gabriela GiustaBio

Research Specialist
The Everett Program

Justin Visagie • Bio

Research Specialist
Human Sciences Research Council

Ivan TurokBio

Executive Director
Human Sciences Research Council

Gordon McGranahanBio

Research Fellow
Institute for Development Studies


  • Sheila Hughes, Chief Director, Intergovernmental Policy and Practice, Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
  • Sue Bannister, Commissioner, National Planning Commission
  • Bea Drost, Sector Expert on Spatial Planning and Urban Development, Department of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation
  • Rob Moor, Executive Director and Graeme Gotz, Research Director, Gauteng City-Region Observatory
  • Sogen Moodley, Senior Program Manager, Municipal Institute for Learning, eThekwini Municipality
  • Margot Rubin, Senior Researcher, School of Architecture and Planning, University of the Witwatersrand
  • Andrew Boraine, CEO, Western Cape Economic Development Partnership
  • Cecil Madell, City Planner and Development Economist, City of Cape Town
  • Glen Robbins, Independent Researcher and Consultant, and Research Fellow, Durban University of Technology
  • Roland Hunter, Economic Development Lead, Cities Support Programme, National Treasury of South Africa
  • Kirsten Pearson, Convenor of Economies of Regions Learning Network, National Treasury of South Africa
  • Puvendra Akkiah, Integrated Development Programme Manager, eThekwini Municipality
  • Nonhlanhla Buthelezi, Chief Director Operational Policy Frameworks, Department of Human Settlements
  • Michael Sutcliffe, Partner, City Insight
  • Ann Bernstein, Executive Director, Center for Development and Enterprise
  • Mamonyane Mokoena, Spatial Planning and Land Use Management Professional, Department of Economic Development
  • Simon Roberts, Executive Director, and Lauralyn Kaziboni, Junior Researcher, Center for Competition, Regulation and Economic Development
  • Elsona Van Huyssteen, Principle Urban and Regional Planning, and Johan Maritz, Senior Researcher, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
  • Arulsivanathan Naidoo, Executive Manager, Statistics South Africa
  • Anton Cartwright, Researcher, African Centre for Cities
  • Rashid Seedat, Head of Gauteng Planning Division, Gauteng Provincial Government
  • Sharon Lewis, Technical Advisor, Government Technical Advisory Centre, National Treasury of South Africa
  • Kabeya Clement Mulamba, South African Research Chair in Industrial Develoment, University of Johannesburg
  • Geci Karuri-Sebina, Executive Director of Programmes, South Africa Cities Network



The convening was held at the South African Cities Network office in Johannesburg, South Africa.